after Joan Miro - Placa Miro-Artigas


Ceramic terracotta tile, circa 1980, stamped verso “Miro-Artigas” with monogram and numbered in marker pen.

Size: Size : 400 x 400 mms;

Edition: 500 numbered copies

Published by: The Miro Foundation, Barcelona, 1992

Authenticity: This item comes in the box of issue. stamped on this box is the authenticy document , with the Succession Miro stamp, which reads as follows: ”Placa Miro-Artigas. Aquesta placa de gres, es una, reproduccion d’una ceramica original de Miro-Artigas, de 40 x 40 cms. Realitzada en el any 1970.Ha estata cuita en al mateix forn de Llenya que l'original. L’Edicio consta de 500 pieces numerates del 1 al 500”

Note: This item is Multiple authorised by the succession Miro made after an original unique piece which was created in 1970. This prototype work is catalogued in the catalogue of works by Miro/Artigas.

Literature: Poligrafa: “Miro Artigas ceramics” (Catalogue Raisonne ) Number 378 for the prototype. In 1953 Miró and Artigas worked at Artigas's studio in Galicia near Barcelona. There they created "firestones" which they exhibited under their joint names including in 1956 a joint exhibition in New York. The following year the two worked on a mural for the UNESCO headquarters and for the University of Harvard. It was Artigas's role to render Miro's designs into the 585 ceramics plates.[1] The tiles that made up the two murals for the UNESCO building were created in Gallifa and Miro supervised their installation in Paris. They were originally displayed outside but they are now contained within a building built to preserve them. Miro was to win a Guggenheim Prize for one of the murals in 1958.The two worked together until Artigas's failing health meant that his son, Joan Gardy Artigas, took over his role. Jordi Artigas died in 1980 in his home city. In 1989 his son set up a Foundation in the name of his father which exists to improve both artists and their art.